Data Retention and Purge Policy

While we always hate to see a customer leave the Simpsen family, we know there will be times when people who have used Simpsen services decide to discontinue their use.  We strive to be responsible in how we deal with data that has been provided by a user who subsequently ceases use of the service.

(We’ve made our Data Retention and Purge Policy available under a Creative Commons Sharealike license, which means you’re more than welcome to repurpose it for your own use. Just make sure to replace references to us with ones to you.)

There are two ways in which users may discontinue use of our services.

Users who explicitly discontinue use.

Users may explicitly discontinue use of Simpsen services by informing Simpsen of their desire to discontinue use, to cancel any subscriptions or services, and to close their account.

Explicit discontinuation becomes effective at the moment it is requested by the user.

Users who implicitly discontinue use.

Users may implicitly discontinue use of Simpsen services by simply ceasing to use the services without contacting Simpsen to express their desire to discontinue use, to cancel any subscriptions or services, and to close their account.

The particular criteria by which Simpsen will conclude that a user has implicitly discontinued use will vary according the particular types of services that the users has engaged.  For example, paid services may have different criteria for implicit discontinuation than non-paid services.  The specific terms for determining discontinuation are provided with the descriptions of each service at the time the user registers to use that service.

Implicit discontinuation necessarily involves a waiting period during which a user may simply be inactive temporarily, but at some point will be determined by Simpsen to have discontinued.

Data Retention and Purge After Discontinuation

When a user has discontinued use of Simpsen, either explicitly or implicitly, Simpsen will remove that user’s data from all active Simpsen databases within 10 days.  No user data is retained in active databases after discontinuation.  An active database is one which is considered current (not backup) data, and is in use by Simpsen services for public or private distribution and presentation according to Simpsen services and policies.

Simpsen may maintain backup databases on a rotating schedule according to our internal data protection and security needs and policies.  Data in backup databases is not intended for use by Simpsen services for public or private distribution and presentation, however, in the event that Simpsen must use a backup database to restore data to an active database for any reason, it is possible that backed up data from a previously discontinued user may reappear in an active database.  In this case Simpsen will make reasonable efforts to ensure that discontinued user data is removed from backup databases before they are used to restore active databases.  

Data that is removed from Simpsen databases is permanently deleted, and is not recoverable.